top of page

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar


Last Thursday, I was able to attend the Q & A session with Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. It was a new experience for me not only because I rarely get the chance to hear such an acclaimed speaker, but also because I have never considered myself a sports fan and didn't realize how much more there was to Abdul-Jabbar's career. He provided insightful commentary on everything from the current state of American politics to professional sports to communication skills to literature.

While I really enjoyed hearing from Mr. Abdul-Jabbar, I noticed that many of his answers were vague in an effort to be non-partisan. I appreciated this effort, especially in the spirit of Civility Week, but felt that it weakened many of his points. Overall, however, I enjoyed the evening and felt better-informed for having attended.


bottom of page