top of page

Service as an Admissions Ambassador

Though this is my second year as an Admissions Ambassador, I am more excited than ever to be a part of the organization. A year spent at ETSU has made me a better and more informed tour guide, and being more involved in my major means that I have an area of expertise that before I was missing. And now that ETSU has become home to me, I can share it with potential students and their parents with a new enthusiasm.

Being an ambassador is a wonderful way to reach out to others. High school students and their parents are nervous about moving on to a new stage of life and ambassadors who offer kindness and reassurance can ease the minds of guests with more influence than many people realize. But being an ambassador has personal-development benefits, as well. Giving campus tours to strangers and witnessing my peers give the same tour with their own flares has reminded me to find the leadership strengths in my own personality. Being an introvert or an extrovert has nothing to do with the quality of a tour guide or a leader. That sort of quality comes from self-assurance, knowledge of the task at hand, and the best of intentions for the people who you are serving.


bottom of page