top of page

What Is All This About For Me, Anyway?


To love and to improve the lives of others through the love of God: that is my mission statement. It is my ultimate wish everyday, though some days I work towards the goal with more success than others.

When we had the discussion, "What Do I Value?" in class, I determined that my two most central values are faith and family. It was hard for me to mark such things as integrity, kindness, and love off the list. But then I stopped to consider this: most everything I do is motivated, or should be motivated, by my devotion to Christ. He is the Reason why I love others. He is the Reason why I strive to live with kindness and integrity.

Aside from my faith, the next most important and influential thing in my life is my family. Initially, I chose love over family. After all, my family is definitely a huge part of the love in my life. But I later realized that choosing love over family implies that I do not have a special connection to my family. And I do. Besides, I knew that God has the love part covered.

As much as I wish it weren't true, there will always be times when the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart are not acceptable in His sight. There will be times when I argue with my siblings. There will be times when all I can think about is myself. But have things been easy for anyone who has worked towards a mission worth having?


bottom of page